BDO ESG Awards 2018

SCMP Marketing Solutions

Award Categories

The top 3 companies from each of the large market capitalisation, middle market capitalisation, small market capitalisation of Main Board companies as well as companies from the GEM will be selected as winners of the two award categories respectively - Best in ESG Award and Best in Reporting Award. The top company from each of the company scale will be selected as winners of the ESG Report of the Year Award or ESG Report of the Year (Newly Listed Companies) Award.

Best in ESG Awards
Best in Reporting Awards
ESG Report of the Year Awards
ESG Report of the Year
(Newly Listed Companies)

Judging Criteria

Best in ESG Awards

Subject areas Aspects
Environment (25%)
  • Emissions Control
  • Use of Resources
  • Environment and Natural Resources
Employment & Labour Practices (25%)
  • Employment Benefits and Welfare
  • Health and Safety
  • Development and Training
  • Labour Standards
Operational Practices (25%)
  • Supply Chain Management
  • Product Responsibility
  • Anti-corruption
Community Investment (25%)
  • Policies on Community Engagement
  • Areas of Contribution
  • Resources Contributed

Best in Reporting Awards

Subject areas Aspects
Assurance (25%)
  • Assurance (Whole report)
  • Assurance (partial)
Materiality Assessment (25%)
  • ESG issues highlighted and corresponding measures described
  • Stakeholder engagement (with detailed descriptions about the mechanism and frequency)
ESG Governance (25%)
  • ESG steering committee/Role and responsibility of the Board/Governance mechanism
  • Identification of ESG risks and developed corresponding strategy
  • Linking ESG strategy with Sustainable Development Goals
Reporting (25%)
  • Channel for reporting the ESG results covering social media and enabling instant feedback capturing
  • Mechanism for evaluating readers’ feedback for future ESG strategy revision
  • Application of international standard (such as GRI, AA1000, SA8000, etc.)
  • Deployment of Impact Reporting

ESG Report of the Year Awards

Companies who performed best in both “Best in ESG” and “Best in Reporting” categories will be awarded “ESG Report of the Year.”

ESG Report of the Year (Newly Listed Companies) Awards

Companies who are newly listed (listed within the period 1 Jan 2016 to 31 Mar 2018) are eligible to compete for this award.